
 

License Requirements for Permit to Possess or Sell Nongame 
Fish Taken from Public Fresh Waters (including shad) 

 
 

Who needs a permit to Possess or Sell Nongame Fish Taken from Public Fresh Waters? 

• Any person who wants to catch for sale, sell or offer for sale nongame fish taken from public fresh water 
of the state. 

• Any person who is collecting shad for personal use and is harvesting large amounts (i.e., container or 
containers that total 30 gallons or more in volume). 

• TPWD-licensed fishing guides* who are catching and selling shad to bait shops or other fishing guides, 
in addition to offering shad as part of their services. 

All holders of nongame fish permits are required to follow all applicable regulations regarding bag and length 
limits and legal freshwater devices. 

 
LICENSES 

Holders of a nongame fish permit and each assistant must also hold all applicable fishing licenses. The 
following additional guidance will help you to determine which licenses are needed. 

 
COMMERCIAL FISHING 

 

 
What are you catching 
and/or selling? 

What licenses and/or permits do you need? 
Bait Dealer – Individual 
Type 312 – Resident and 
non-resident, $38 

General Commercial Fisherman’s 
License 
Type 372 – Resident, $26 
Type 340 – Non-Resident, $189 

Nongame Fish 
Permit 
$60 

Bait Only Required Not Applicable Required 
Food Fish Only Not Applicable Required Required 
Bait & Food Fish Required Required Required 

 
NON-COMMERCIAL FISHING 

 
 

How much are you catching per day? 

What licenses and/or permits do you need? 
Recreational Fishing License Nongame Fish Permit 

$60 
Shad large quantity (> 30 gallons), no sale Required Required 

Shad small quantity (< 30 gallons), no sale Required Not Applicable 
 
 

*Special Note for Fishing Guides: A TPWD-licensed fishing guide who catches shad ONLY for use as a part of the 
guide’s services will not be required to possess a nongame fish permit. 

If you are also a retail or wholesale fish dealer or use boats for commercial fishing purposes, additional licenses 
may be required. For more information on licenses, please refer to the Texas Commercial Fishing Guide, 
available at Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Regional and Field Law Enforcement Offices or online at: 
http://tpwd.texas.gov/publications/pwdpubs/media/pwd_bk_v3400_0074.pdf 

 
 

For more information about the Nongame Fish Permit, please contact (512) 389-4742 or ifpermits@tpwd.texas.gov. 
 
 

PWD LF T3200-1794 (02/19) 

http://tpwd.texas.gov/publications/pwdpubs/media/pwd_bk_v3400_0074.pdf
mailto:ifpermits@tpwd.texas.gov

	Who needs a permit to Possess or Sell Nongame Fish Taken from Public Fresh Waters?
	LICENSES

